Nervous…

I keep hearing over and over than being a little nervous as a new nurse, besides that it’s normal, is better than not being nervous at all. I do agree with this little sentiment since stress is a powerful driving force for many people. A new nurseĀ  who is a stubborn know-it-all can be very dangerous because there is obviously no substitute for experience and there’s no way anyone can know it all.

Our orientation today was a little disappointing because of some unexpected circumstances. We eventually got through it though and I even got my schedule figured out. When asked what day I wanted to get started, I figured that there is no reason for me to waste more time so I said as soon as possible. So I was given tomorrow as my first training day. Can’t get any sooner than that I guess.

I’m happy, excited, nervous and anxious all at the same time. Tomorrow I will officially start my first day as a registered nurse and I can’t wait to see what it’s like.

I hope to look back to read this post and wonder what I was so nervous about. Wish me luck!

Comments
4 Responses to “Nervous…”
  1. Emilie Bee says:

    Great post! I have a never-ending conflict between confidence and nervousness in any new situation — I want to be confident and look like I know what I’m doing, but I am always terrified of not “knowing” the situation. 99% of the time I look back and wonder why I was ever nervous in the first place. Good luck!

  2. Yeah, I think the key is balance. It’s good to be confident but not too confident that you won’t listen to other people. Also a little nervousness is good (it keeps me on top of things, I have to double check everything!) but being a nervous wreck, to the point that you can’t focus, is not going to help anyone.
    Anyway, baby steps lol Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

